

Council

22 January 2018

**Subject: Appointment to Vacancy on the Planning Committee** 

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Alan Robinson

Monitoring Officer 01427 676509

alan.robinson@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by the

Administration to make an appointment to the current vacancy on the Planning Committee.

## **RECOMMENDATION(S):**

1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, the Members set out at section 1.5 of the report be appointed to serve on the Council's Planning Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 civic year.

## **IMPLICATIONS**

**Legal:** In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial: Fin/ 134/18

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Staffing: None directly arising as a result of this report.			
Equality and Diversity including Human Rights : None			
Risk Assessment : N/A			
Climate Related Risks and Opportunities : N/A			
Background Papers :			
The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report.			
Title:	Location of Background Papers:		
Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places			
Minutes Annual Council 8 May 2017			
Minutes Council 3 July 2017			
Call in and Urgency:			
Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?			
Yes	No	X	
Key Decision:			
Yes	No	X	

- 1. Committee Membership of the Planning Committee
- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).

- 1.2 At the Annual Council meeting on 8 May a report was submitted which appointed members to each of the Council Committees according to agreed political proportionality.
- 1.3 The resignation of former Councillor Stuart Curtis saw a vacancy arise on the Planning Services Committee, a vacancy, which to date the Administration have chosen not to re-allocate.
- 1.4 There was a by-election in the Scothern Ward in November 2017 resulting in Councillor Bob Waller being elected. The Administration have therefore expressed the wish that Councillor Bob Waller be appointed to the current vacancy on the Planning Committee.
- 1.5 The amended membership of the Planning Committee is set out below.

## Planning Committee (12 members)

Councillor Ian Fleetwood (Chairman)

Councillor Owen Bierley (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Matthew Boles

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Michael Devine

Councillor Hugo Marfleet

Councillor Giles McNeill

Councillor Mrs Jessie Milne

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Mrs Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Thomas Smith

Councillor Bob Waller

## 2. Recommendations

1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, the Members set out at section 1.5 of the report be appointed to serve on the Council's Planning Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 civic year.